DIY – The Good Life…

While I was on my working-for-a-living induced blogging hiatus, ‘Prompts For The Promptless’ moved – it can now be found here. Since finishing the exam marking (which left me with insufficient mental energy for reading or writing anything else) most of my posts have been focussed on images rather than text as my brain recovers from wading through 700+ poetry essays written by 16 year olds. However, the prompt for this week fits perfectly with our activities over the weekend, so it seems like a good time to rejoin the cast.

The prompt is simply DIY (building, modifying or repairing something without the aid of experts of professionals). While I always think of screwdrivers and trips to B&Q when anyone mentions DIY, it really means doing something (anything?) for yourself rather than paying somebody else to do it or buying a ready-made version. In this sense. I’ve been trying to integrate more DIY into our lives for a while now.

apple pieThis weekend the Jam and I made our own pizzas (admittedly, the bread-maker made the dough but we shaped it, proved it and topped it ourselves.) I don’t have any photos because it disappeared too quickly, which I think makes it a success. I also made a honey and sunflower loaf (also in the bread-maker), which was lovely. My dad made an apple pie with the mystery apples from the two trees in the garden. We are now 95% sure we have Bramleys (cooking apples) and Granny Smiths. He also made custard from scratch.

americanatop

I found time to finish knitting and sew together my first ‘proper’ adult garment, which I’ve been working on recently. I’ve made scarves, hats, blankets and baby clothes in the past but completing a top for myself has been a personal goal for a while. It’s a summer top and not only is it done before the end of summer, it also looks nice and I will actually wear it!

 

8 thoughts on “DIY – The Good Life…

    1. Thank you. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for ages, but it always looked like such a huge project. I’d suggest a summer top (no / minimal time doing sleeves) on biggish (4mm at least) needles so you don’t get fed up before it’s done! Good luck…

  1. I wish I had the patience to make my own pizza but on “pizza day” (Saturday) I can hardly even wait for it to cook let alone make it myself!
    I love the “mystery apples” 🙂

    1. They were ‘mystery trees’ until recently – I was hoping for plums but apple pie is a good consolation!

What do you think?