Book Destash: Jan/Feb update

One is for book group, so that's okay...
One is for book group, so that’s okay…

I’m making steady progress through my reading list for this year. I’ve finished two books and am nearing the end of the third, but I need to read five books every four months to get through all 20 and that doesn’t take into account reading anything that’s not on the list…like the ones I couldn’t resist buying today.

From my 2014 book destash list I’ve read:

6. A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (The first Sherlock Holmes story and one of only four full length novels. Despite a unexpectedly detailed aside explaining Mormon history, I really enjoyed it and I definitely want to read more of the original stories.)

9. The Carrier by Sophie Hannah (A modern crime novel and very different from the Conan Doyle. I initially found the sheer number of characters confusing, but once I’d figured out who knew who and how, I was hooked. Although I guessed whodunnit, the motive and the twists involving other character were still surprising. I later found that it was part of a series and some of the characters would have been familiar to me if I’d read the earlier books.)

1. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson (2013 Costa Winner and short-listed for the 2013 Women’s Prize – deservingly I think. I will write a proper review of this wonderful novel when I’ve read the last few pages).

What do you think?

