Destashing my Bookshelves

As anyone who has spent more than five minutes on this blog will have noticed, it’s quite eclectic. I blog about motherhood, knitting, congenital heart disease, books and quite a lot of cake; sometimes I even blog about blogging. The blogs I follow and read regularly are a diverse collection, but most would fit into at least one of those categories. A few of the knitting bloggers have been writing about destashing (translation for non-knitters: reducing their yarn collection) and I’ve been particularly impressed with the efforts of a fantastic knitter called Rachelle, as summarised here.

I can’t quite bring myself to start reducing my yarn stash – especially now I’ve acquired a space for it all – but I thought my bookshelves might benefit from a similar crackdown so I decided to make a list of twenty books (that I already have) which I’d like to read this year. (I’m cheating slightly because I’ve just finished one of them, but I didn’t want to make the list public before that and risk getting to December without having read any of them!)

  1. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
  2. The Marlowe Papers by Ros Barber
  3. Arthur & George by Julian Barnes
  4. Any Human Heart by William Boyd
  5. The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes
  6. A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle
  7. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
  8. Engleby by Sebastian Faulks
  9. The Carrier by Sophie Hannah
  10. Flight Behaviour by Barbara Kingsolver
  11. Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan
  12. Heft by Liz Moore
  13. Passion by Jude Morgan
  14. The Hand that First Held Mine by Maggie O’Farrell
  15. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  16. Umbrella by Will Self
  17. An Unequal Music by Vikram Seth
  18. The Light Between Oceans by M L Stedman
  19. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  20. The Blackheath Seance Parlour by Alan Williams

bookstashThe only rule I made for myself was not to have more than one book by any author, though weirdly I came out with a perfect gender balance. The colour-coding is simply to remind me which are borrowed or on my Kindle. All too often I find myself staring at the shelves, unable to make a choice and then buy something new instead. This list should give me more focus and although I can’t promise to stop buying new books, I’m going to try to at least limit myself to ‘one in, one out’.

3 thoughts on “Destashing my Bookshelves

What do you think?

