MacMan Hat

knitappleAnother quick hat, this time for Dad. Done in a couple of days, though it wasn’t quite the simple project I expected. Having chosen a basic pattern, Dad then decided that he’d like a touch of personalisation, the Apple logo. No problem I thought, until I realised that knitting a single block of colour (rather than a repeating pattern) is almost impossible in the round. Having decided to knit it flat and sew up the back seam, I tried stranding the wool across the back of the logo, as I did for the Jam’s hat, but I kept getting holes where the colours met. I went back a few rows, read the section on intarsia in my Knitter’s Bible, and tried again. It turns out that intarsia is actually easier than Fair Isle once you get going!

For the knitters among you, there are more details on my ravelry project page.

What do you think?

