Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda….

IMG_1766Today should have been my Mum’s 65th birthday; there would have been a party. I could spend the day being angry she didn’t get to celebrate. I could regret missing her 60th for a friend’s wedding (naively assuming she’d have lots more birthdays but they’d only get married once). I could be sad.

Instead I will mark the occasion in a way she would have liked. I will drink champagne (which I won, improbably, in an archery competition). I will remember the fabulous spa day we had a few weeks before her 60th birthday in lieu of a celebration on the day. I will think about her wisdom, her kindness, her humour and her love. I will celebrate the years we did have… and if I cry, they will be happy tears.

Raise a glass and join me!

11 thoughts on “Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda….

What do you think?

