Pott[er]ing On

Dad is attempting to teach me about gardening… When I announced that I wanted a herb garden he took me to the garden centre, helped me chose some decent mint and thyme, and planted them for me. He also sowed some basil, parsley and chive seeds in his propagator (with ‘help’ from the Jam) and left me with instructions regarding watering. (I can do watering.) Then he went home and the seeds started to grow…

Chives (hard to see, but not dead), parsley and basil - yay!
Chives (hard to see, but not dead), parsley and basil – yay!

A couple of days ago he announced that I would need to ‘pot on’ the seedlings. After running through the instructions several times and being reminded that “it’s not mud, it’s soil” I gathered the equipment and gave it a go. The little plants did not look happy, and I was pretty sure I’d killed them but Dad said to bring them inside each evening and hope for the best. Amazingly this morning, they started to look rather more perky. It seems that nature’s determination to survive trumps even my inept fumbling!

What do you think?

