…into Gold (aka Straw – part 2)

What a difference a day (and a good night’s sleep) can make! After yesterday’s self-pitying rant, things look much brighter today.

Firstly, our lovely new house. The roof is fixed, the render is done, the new windows are in. This morning I got a significantly more reasonable quote for the guttering work and the plumber who came to sort out the radiator valves also seems to have fixed the hot water.

We’re a day closer to the Jam’s MRI, but rather than focus on the negatives I’m grateful that we live in a country with such an amazing public healthcare system. The NHS has its problems, but the standard of care we have receive at the Evelina Children’s Hospital is amazing and they are leading lights in the world of paediatric cardiology. I’m also grateful that the Jam was born now when research and medical advances give him very nearly a normal life most of the time.

Thirdly, I’m sipping a lovely fruity cider as I write this, and contemplating a glass of Chateauneuf -du-Pape with my steak. There’s always next month…

I decided to try to be positive about the tyre too and concentrate on the fact that I’d noticed it before it exploded on the motorway, but for once the karma fairy seems to think she owes me one. It turns out that I’ve just scraped off a relatively thin layer of rubber and not damaged the important bit or compromised the integrity of the tyre, which means it doesn’t need to be replaced.

My phone works.

Peppa Pig cupcakes!
Peppa Pig cupcakes!

As a bonus, I had a lovely lazy nap this afternoon while my Dad played with the Jam. (DH is away for work until tomorrow, which didn’t help with my mood yesterday, but Dad is a fantastic sub.) I got up to find that they’d been busy:

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “…into Gold (aka Straw – part 2)

  1. Love this post! Think I need to have a bit of your positive thinking next time I hit a low day. Garden pics look fab 🙂

    On the subject of being thankful to the health service and their amazing staff – I discovered via FB that the Norwood surgery was 30 yrs old in January just gone. Coincidentally, it was my husband’s 30th at the same time… Lee and I could so easily have been parents of a chd child in a different generation… I’m so grateful to the pioneering surgeons in the USA and the brave parents who first elected their child to undergo OHS. X

    1. I don’t always manage it (see previous post) but I try to remind myself that sitting in a corner crying doesn’t fix anything and won’t actually make me feel better, so there’s no point doing it. That said, I think it’s very important to let yourself have low days – living with CHD is a huge burden, and as parents we carry as much of it as possible for our children. Sometimes you have to bend a little so that you won’t break later!
      We are very lucky that there is so much that can be done for our children now. The Jam’s MRI is tomorrow and we’ve already agreed to let them do some extra bits as part of their research into the muscle function for for single ventricle hearts – anything to help things along!

      1. I’ve just seen your post – sorry for the late reply, it’s a whirlwind of night feeds, nappies and sleeplessness 🙂

        I really hope Jam’s MRI went smoothly? I’m sure he was a brave boy. It is nice to help others through the research programmes x

What do you think?

