Meraki

I struggled with Rarasaur‘s last prompt – Wu Wei – as it’s not something I find easily in my life. This one however, suggested a plethora of possibilities topics. The concept this week is Meraki: “This is a word that modern Greeks often use to describe doing something with soul, creativity, or love — when you put “something of yourself” into what you’re doing, whatever it may be.”

Interestingly some of the activities I do with Meraki also ended up being mentioned in my Wu Wei post. I guess loving to do something and doing it instinctively go hand in hand (though this does not apply to running). Here’s my top 5 (in no particular order):

  1. Baking – rather than cooking, as cake represents celebration to me and I try to make beautiful and/or delicious ones for my family and friends. I don’t always succeed, but one ingredient I never forget is love.
  2. Knitting – Mum shared a hobby she loved with me and I love making things for those I love.
  3. Blogging – little bits of my heart and soul are scattered throughout this blog.
  4. Reading – if the actual reading doesn’t count, passionate discussion of books must!
  5. Teaching – not the paperwork (or the marking) but being in the classroom. I love inspiring students to see the world a little bit differently or seeing it in new ways through their eyes. The look on a child’s face when a new idea clicks into place makes all the hard work worthwhile. I miss it.
Made with love; raised with love - a little piece of me, heart and soul!
Made with love; raised with love – a little piece of me, heart and soul!

However, there’s one thing that beats all of those:

5 thoughts on “Meraki

What do you think?

