11th Possibility – Sunshine & Flowers

I’ve been wracking my brain trying to come with something to write about for Rarasaur’s second Prompt for the Promptless: “The 11th Possibility is the idea that, regardless of data to the contrary, something unexpected and outside the realm of ordinary thought is always potentially around the corner.” I think I made have missed the deadline (and possibly the point) but just in case time difference means I slip under the wire, I thought I’d share this anyway.

First flowers of Spring - a magical moment every year
First flowers of spring – a magical moment every year!

Sometimes, despite my best efforts to remain positive, life feels hard. I know that I am lucky in many ways and I am thankful for the many wonderful things in my life, but that doesn’t cancel out the bad bits. I know that other people have bigger problems, but that doesn’t make mine disappear. Sometimes it feels like winter will never end.

Then it does. The Earth amazes me every year by recreating life from soil and dead leaves – starting with these little unexpected flashes of beauty. The Jam and I walked in the park today. The warmth of the sun on my back made me feel strong; the light of the sun on my face made me feel hopeful. Yesterday that seemed a very remote possibility, but perhaps it was just the 11th…

5 thoughts on “11th Possibility – Sunshine & Flowers

What do you think?

