Wool, glorious wool…

I’m knitting again. This may not sound like a big thing, but it represents two significant developments in my life. The first is that the Jam is sleeping better and settling down more quickly by himself at night. This, combined with a recently-discovered ability to play by himself for short periods during the day, means I actually have time to do more in an evening than just eat, load the washing machine and dash off a quick blog post. Knitting means I have time to relax. It’s also something I can do while talking do DH, which is a bonus…

wool

The second development is that I’m physically capable of knitting. For a long time after the Jam was born, the eczema on my hands was so bad that the wool would snag on the dry patches. (That was a good day, on bad days the cracks and splits made holding the needles painful.) There are quite a few posts in the archives about my battle with eczema but I haven’t mentioned it for a while – it seemed to be much better so I didn’t want to tempt fate! The skin on my hands is still dry and I have had a few (relatively mld) flare-ups but at least my fingers are fully functional!

Beautiful shawl Mum knitted when we found out I was pregnant. Sadly she never got to see the Jam in it.
Beautiful shawl Mum knitted when we found out I was pregnant. Sadly she never got to see the Jam in it.

My Mum taught me to knit as a child and again when I was about 30. She’d retired and rediscovered her old hobby, along with a lot of lovely new yarns and designers. I’ll never be as good as she was, particularly as she’s no longer here to sort out my mistakes and teach me new tricks, but knitting always makes me feel close to her. I have a few little projects in mind to get me started – hopefully there will be photos here soon.

What do you think?

