Chilli con turkey

We’ve been trying to cut down on the amount of red meat in our diet, partly to keep the Jam’s heart as healthy as possible and partly as an attempt to be a little slimmer healthier ourselves. We’ve been eating more fish and trying some veggie recipes, but I’ve also been experimenting with replacing minced beef with turkey. (Given the recent horsemeat kerfuffle, I guess I’m not the only one who’s been replacing the poor old cow with a cheaper and leaner beast…)

I don’t usually post recipes when I cook, as I’m never sure about the copyright issues if they’re based on published recipes, but this one is pretty much my own. It owes a little to Nigella and Lorraine, as they’re responsible for much of the contents of my cupboards, and a lot to Dad for technique.

I forgot to take a photo, but this is funnier…
  • 2 banana shallots
  • 3/4 tsp ‘easy’ chilli
  • yellow pepper
  • small handful of sundried tomatoes
  • turkey mince
  • 3/4 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 small glass red vermouth
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tin red kidney beans
  • a glug of Worcester sauce
  • generous grinding of black pepper

Fry the chopped shallots and chilli for a couple of minutes while you chop the pepper and sundried tomatoes, then fry them too.  Add the turkey mince and chilli powder and cook until the meat browns. Pour in the vermouth and increase the heat so it bubbles and becomes syrupy. Then reduce the heat, stir in the tomatoes, rinsed kidney beans, Worcester sauce and black pepper. Simmer for at least half an hour and serve with rice.

I’m not claiming this is perfect, and I’d welcome suggestions to refine it, but it was good enough that DH (who loves his red meat) suggested I make it again! I’d love to hear what you think…

What do you think?

