Spine poetry

Browsing through some other blogs this morning, I came across this great post about spine poetry. This isn’t a new idea – it’s been around since at least 1993 and I think was first done, or at least first made famous, by this artist. I was vaguely aware of it, but I’d never thought about having a go myself.

My first attempt is dedicated to DH – the travelling for work has been relentless recently and though I sometimes think it sounds fun and sophisticated, I know that it’s hard for him too:

The second one is part of my continuing attempts to (re)define myself after giving up work:

The third was supposed to be for Dad, who’s an atheist, but ended up rather more agnostic and thoughtful:

Then I realised that I didn’t have to stick to books. It seemed apt to use DVDs for a bit of social commentary on the high-speed hedonism of modern life:

I’ll definitely be trying this again. The teacher in me is already working out a lesson plan for English/PSHE or World Book Day…

What do you think?

