Dropping the nap

As I mentioned in a post about muffins, the Jam has not been keen on his daytime nap recently (despite Grandad promising that he’d only be asleep for five minutes). He’s been going down later, waking later and then being a monster at bedtime, so a couple of days ago I decided to see if he could get through the whole day without a sleep.

Day One

Woke late (as he’d gone to bed late) making this a good day to attempt Project NFMM  aka “no five minutes Mummy”. Keeping him awake in the afternoon wasn’t too hard as we baked and played fire engines. I was worried that he’d be too sleepy to eat his dinner, but he did really well. Early bath, aspirin (for his heart), milk and stories – he fell asleep during Peepo and was in the cot by 18.30.

HT score: 1-0

He woke up at 23.30, just after I’d turned off my bedside light. Usually at this time it’s fairly easy to resettle him, but it took us (DH helped and saved my sanity) an hour to get him back in the cot. We had to resort to the stern voice we used when we first started leaving him to fall asleep by himself and ignore the protests, which didn’t last more than a few minutes in the end.

FT score: 2-1

Day Two

The Jam woke at a very civilised 7.15 this morning and was in a good mood for music group. After lunch he was a little grumpy and looked really tired so I took him upstairs – one option was naps on alternate days – but was told “No sleep. Mummy sit. Watch Grandpa [in my] Pocket with Jamie.” I did as instructed, much to his delight as he announced “Jamie winner!”

HT score: 2-2

He fell asleep in his highchair. This has NEVER happened before. He even still had a little piece of banana muffin (we’re trying to eat them before they go soggy) clutched in his hand. At this point I thought I was winning, but he cried when I lifted him out and cried even more when I tried to put him to bed. After our usual bedtime routine he usually goes down quite happily and at least tries to go to sleep, but not tonight. It took three extra verses of ‘Twinkle Twinkle’ and the stern voice to get him to lie down and then he fell asleep in seconds.

FT score 3-3

I’m now enjoying a well-deserved glass of wine (Villa Maria Riesling – one of my favourites) with DH and hoping we don’t go to extra time…

What do you think?

