[Wet] Wooly Wednesday: Blocking

Published July 31, 2013 by kirkykoo79

I finished the baby blanket I was knitting ages ago, but I knew that I’d have to block it to make the most of the lace pattern. I’ve never blocked anything before and wasn’t sure how to go about it as there are several different methods and a lot of conflicting advice. The main options seem to be:

  1. pinning it out then steam blocking using an electric iron;
  2. pinning it out then placing a wet cloth over the top and leaving both to dry together;
  3. soaking it then pressing out the water then pinning it out and leaving it to dry.

fog blanket1I knew I didn’t want to risk ruining the yarn (Debbie Bliss Eco Aran – a lovely soft cotton) with a hot iron so I ruled out steam blocking, and I acquired some blocking wires so that I wouldn’t have to spend hours pinning only to end up with scalloped edges. Having bought some lovely smelling wool wash and commandeered the Jam’s squishy foam squares, I decided to go for the third option.

Still soft, still square - success!

Still soft, still square – success!

The Jam enjoyed helping me press out the water into a huge bath towel and he patiently watched me thread the wires and pin it into place (which still took a very long time). 30+ hours (and that’s in the current warm weather) later it was dry and I nervously unpinned it…

Enhanced by Zemanta

3 comments on “[Wet] Wooly Wednesday: Blocking

  • What do you think?

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 185 other followers

